Summer Learning Journey | Design Your Own Surfboard

In this Summer Learning Journey activity I have Designed my own surfboard. As you can see the surfboard that I have design is based of a Pohutukawa tree. I have chosen to do this design as Pohutukawa trees because this tree is special as it only blooms every summer.

Something I have learned about Pohutukawa trees is that they can live up to hundreds of years in their natural environment. Something else is that New Zealand’s oldest Pohutukawa tree is around 600 years old.

Through out this activity I had fun designing my own surfboard and leaning new facts about the Pohutukawa trees.

One thought on “Summer Learning Journey | Design Your Own Surfboard

  1. Kia ora ONinesha,

    It’s Simon here from the Summer Learning Journey team 👋

    This is a stunning surfboard you have created. I really like how you have put Pohutukawa flowers on your design as they are a strong representation of summer in New Zealand. Thanks for sharing some facts about Pohutukawa. I didn’t know that they could live to 600 years! That’s very old. Are Pohutukawa your favourite native tree?

    This design must have taken you a while to complete. It looks fantastic! Tino pai! Do you have any tips for people designing a surfboard that is representative of summer like yours?

    Have you managed to get to the beach this summer so far?

    Ngā mihi,
    Simon (SLJ)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *